Human Rights and Democracy in Venezuela


Tuesday, April 26, 2016, 12:00pm


CGIS South S-250, 1730 Cambridge St.

Veronica Zubillaga is the current Santander Visiting Scholar at the David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies (DRCLAS) at Harvard. She is Associate Professor at the Universidad Simón Bolívar in Caracas. Her research interests include: Urban violence and drug trafficking in Latin America. Research grants include: Fulbright Scholarship; The Open Society Foundations; the Security Challenges in the Americas Fellowship for Visiting Scholars at CLACS, Brown University.

She was a Craig M. Cogut Visiting Professor in Latin American and Caribbean Studies at Brown University in 2015.

Alfredo Romero, is a fellow at the Carr Center For Human Rights Policy, Harvard Kennedy School of Government and Executive Director of Foro Penal Venezolano (FPV), winner of the 2014 Department of State Human Rights Defender Award. He is also a Professor of Public Law at Universidad Central de Venezuela. He is the  author of articles and books about public and constitutional law, human rights and crimes against humanity. He holds a Law degree from Universidad Católica Andrés Bello, Caracas, and MA from Georgetown University, and an LLM from London School of Economics.

Boris Muñoz, is a Venezuelan journalist and political analyst based in Cambridge, MA, and is currently a Visiting Scholar at the David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies at Harvard University. He is a freelance contributor on current affairs to well known international media such as The New Yorker, Newsweek, The Daily Beast, Vocativ, Foreign Affairs, Internazionale, Yahoo!, Univision and Gatopardo. He is the author of several books, including: La ley de la calle, testimonios de jóvenes protagonistas de la violencia en Caracas (Fundarte 1995), Más allá de la ciudad letrada, Crónicas y espacios urbanos. He is a Nieman Fellow 2010, Carr Center Fellow for Human Rights Policy (2011-12), and holds a Ph.D. in Hispanic American Literature at Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey.