Symbolic Reparations


Friday, March 31, 2017, 5:00pm to 7:00pm


Room 133, Barker Center, Harvard University

Symbolic comes from the domain of culture; reparations from the domain of law. How can these terms be conjoined to promote processes of healing, justice and social transformation? 

For more information please click here.




Friday, March 31 | 5pm - 7pm | Room 133, Barker Center, Harvard University

Angela Perez
Cultural Vice President, Banco de la Republica de Colombia

Jennifer Schirmer
Fellow, Carr Center for Human Rights Policy, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Lisa Laplante
Director of Center for International Law and Policy, New England Law Boston

Moderator and Comments

Liliana Obregon
Santo Domingo Visiting Scholar at DRCLAS, Harvard University

Saturday, April 1 | 9am - 12pm | Room 133, Barker Center, Harvard University

Jose G. Nugent
Director, Lugar de Memoria, Lima, Peru

Cristina Lleras
Museo Nacional de la Memoria, Bogota, Colombia

Sergio Rojas
Professor, Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chile

Julian Bonder
Partner, Wodiczko+Bonder; Professor of Architecture, Roger Williams University

Moderator and Comments

Peter Winn
Professor of Latin American History, Tufts University

Saturday, April 1 | 12pm - 2pm | Room 133, Barker Center, Harvard University

Lunch and Keynote (Lunch will be provided)

James E. Young
Professor Emeritus and Founding Director, Institute for Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies, University of Massachusetts, Amherst


Doris Sommer
Ira Jewell Williams Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures, Harvard University

Saturday, April 1 | 2:30pm - 5pm | Room 133, Barker Center, Harvard University

Benvenuto Chavajay
Artist (Guatemala)

Juan Manuel Echavarria
Artist (Colombia)

Rafael Lozano-Hammer 
Artist (Mexico)

Moderator and Comments

Tania Bruguera
Artist (Cuba)

Sunday, April 2 | 9am - 1pm | Boston University

Workshop Led by SRRP Members

Marco Abarca
Universidad de Puerto Rico

Jose L. Falconi
Harvard University

Robin Greeley
University of Connecticut

Michael Orwicz
University of Connecticut

Ana Maria Reyes
Boston University

Fernando J. Rosenberg
Brandeis University